Monday, 18 June 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Five Area Football Players & One Coach Set to Compete at 2017 Kansas Shrine Bowl Game
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

The 44th annual Kansas Shrine Bowl game is set for Saturday, July 29th at BG Products and Veterans Sports Complex at Butler County Community College at 7:00pm and five area football stars and one area coach are set to participate in the contest this year.

The five area athletes set to compete in the game as they were selected from over 450 nominated athletes from over 200 schools. The five are athletes selected for the 2017 Shrine Bowl are Cuttar Huss of Troy, Trenton Henry of Nemaha Central, Eric Renyer of Sabetha, Greg Martin of Marysville and Adam Smith of Atchison. All five guys were selected to the East roster for the game. Also, Nemaha Central Thunder head coach, Warren Seitz will serve as an assistant coach for the East squad. 

Troy Trojan, Cuttar Huss helped the Trojans to their first ever football State title in school history this year as the Trojans posted a 13-0 season capturing the Class 2-1A State title. Huss who earned several 2-1A "Player of the Year" honors registered 1,253 yards receiving on the year with 17 touchdowns and ran for 423 yards with five scores, while also notching 66 tackles from his defensive back spot and five interceptions. The Troy senior was named a Top 11 player in the State by the Topeka-Capital Journal and Varsity Kansas, while earning All-State honors from several publications and earned Twin Valley League honors, also. 

Nemaha Central Thunder made the final four in Class 3A making it to the Sub-State round of the playoffs this year finishing the season with a 12-1 record. Senior, Trenton Henry was a key piece to the Thunder's success leading the team in tackles with around 120 at in linebacker spot, while recording 4.5 sacks and three forced fumbles along with catching 20 passes for 299 yards and six touchdowns at tight end. Henry was selected 3A All-State by several publications along with earning All-Big Seven honors. 

Sabetha Bluejay senior, Eric Renyer helped the Bluejays to a 9-2 record this past season seeing the Bluejays make the 3A playoffs and win a first round game. Renyer on the year recorded 57 tackles with three sacks and two fumble recoveries on the defensive line, while at tight end caught nine passes for 140 yards and two touchdowns, while also blocking for a Sabetha rushing attack that notched 358 yards per game. Renyer was selected 3A All-State by several publications along with earning All-Big Seven honors. 

Marysville Bulldogs posted their first winning season since 2009 going 7-3 and making the 3A playoffs for the second straight year and senior, Greg Martin helped the team to that success. Martin an All-State 3A and multi-time NCKL selection on the offensive and defensive line registered 84 tackles on the season, while blocking for a balanced offense that included a 1,000+ yard rusher on the year. 

Atchison Redmen, Adam Smith helped Atchison continue their dominance in the KCAL winning the League title while the team finished 6-3 on the year overall. Smith who only played in seven games on the season due to injury notched 973 yards passing with 17 touchdowns to only three interceptions, while rushing for 472 yards with nine scores. At defensive back Smith recorded 49 tackles with an interception and fumble recovery. 

Nemaha Central Thunder head coach, Warren Seitz is set to be an assistant coach on the East squad after guiding his team to a 12-1 record and one of the final four teams in Class 3A making the Sub-State round of the playoffs. Seitz and the Thunder won a Big Seven League and Distritct title for the second straight year during the season. In six years at Nemaha Seitz has totaled a 50-14 record. 

The 44th annual Kansas Shrine Bowl will be held in El Dorado, Kansas on Saturday, July 29th at 7:00pm at Butler County Community College and the East team will be coached by Rossville head coach, Derick Hammes, while the West will be coached by Goddard-Eisenhower head coach, Marc Marinelli. For tickets and additional information visit or call 800-530-5524. 

2017 Kansas Shrine Bowl Roster


Drew Bones Ottawa High

Hunter Browning Washburn Rural High

Dalton Cowan Topeka Seaman High

Bryce Crouch Emporia High

Jay Dineen Lawrence Free State High

Clayton Fowler Hartford High

Colin Grunhard Bishop Miege High

Dawson Hammes Rossville High

Jake Hastings Santa Fe Trail High

Trenton Henry Nemaha Central High

Wyatt Hubert Shawnee Heights High

Cuttar Huss Troy High

JJ Letcher Piper High

Jordin Linn Neodesha High

Michael Maffry Blue Valley High

Jordan Martin Turner High

Greg Martin Marysville High

Jason Meeker SM West High

Brandon Miekus Frontenac High

Trey Moore Lawrence High

Justin Peine Prairie View High

Travis Pickert St. James Academy High

Danny Presler SM North High

Trystan Pringle Lyndon High

Eric Renyer Sabetha High

Eric Scott Basehor- Linwood High

Adam Smith Atchiison High

Chandler Struthers St. Pauls High

Trevor Thompson SM East High

Garrett Tierney BV North West High

Peyton Usher-Pearson Independence High

Mitchell Wertzberger Wabaunsee High

Kamaren Wilson Field KinleyHigh

Keegan Zars Mill Valley High


Derick Hammes (head) Rossville High

Bob Lisher Lawrence Free State High

Tom Radke St. James Academy

Rob Hedrick Ottawa High

Warren Seitz Nemaha Central High

Brent Hoelting Lyndon High

Team Managers:

Nick Sloop Nemaha Central High

Certified Athletic Trainers:

Curt Sudbeck St. Benedict

Kaylin Voss Lawrence


Ben Adler Trinity Academy

Jovon Baldwin Junction City High

Shane Berens Hays High

Tyrekus Birch Wichita South High

Kaden Davis Ellsworth High

Cooper Dreifort Andover High

Zach Esau Hesston High

Dylan Foos Dighton High

Hayden Friend Plainville High

Joey Gilbertson Wichita Northwest High

Kody Gonzalez Goddard High

Cullen Grabast Osborne High

Jacob Green Norton Community High

Layke Heimerman Halstead High

Zach Helbing Mulvane High

Peyton Hill Garden City High

Jacob Jenkins Harper-Chaparral High

Hunter Kaufman Pratt High

Dallin Marlnee Augusta High

Jacob Murray Great Bend High

Ben Murray Southeast of Saline High

Tanner Orand Eisenhower High

Nate Pauly Garden Plain High

Eldon Picou Manhattan High

Ethan Richardson Maize South High

Josh Rivas Hutchinson High

Cooper Root Wichita Collegiate

Marshall Rutschman Sedgwick High

Thomas Sanchez Dodge City High

Jay Shank Valley Center High

Landen Urban Hoisington High

Peerlus Walker Derby High

Ethan White Buhler High

Dillon Williams Holcomb High


Marc Marinelli (head) Goddard Eisenhower High

Brian Hill Garden City High

Scott Vang Goddard High

Brent Pfeifer Maize South High

Clint Rider Hesston High

Grant Stephenson Plainville High

Certified Athletic Trainers:

Morgan Sommers Andover

Taylor Rholeder Wichita


©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group