Tuesday, 23 October 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Eight Area 8-Man Football Seniors Selected to 8-Man All-Star Games
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

8-Man All-Star Football Rosters - Divsion I    Division II 

The annual 8-Man football All-Star games are set June 9 at 10:00am for the Division I contest and 1:30pm for the Division II game and eight area 8-Man football seniors have been selected to play in the contests. Games are set to take place in Beloit. 

The 8-Man Division II East roster will have six area athletes hailing from Hanover, Linn and Axtell. Hanover Wildcats finished this past season 13-0 winning their second straight 8-Man DII State title and will have three representatives in the annual All-Star game this year. The teams leading tackler Carlos Emanuel was selected to the game, along with Kevin Diederich and Brennan Zabortsky. Emanuel recorded 87 tackles this past season to lead the team, while adding three sacks, an interception and forced fumble. Diederich had over 1,000 yards of offense for the Wildcats with 803 yards rushing with seven touchdowns and 239 yards receiving with four touchdowns, while also making 85 tackles and four interceptions on defense. Zabortsky caught 11 passes for 283 yards with six touchdowns and made 46 tackles on defense. Hanover Head Coach, Matt Heuer is also set to partake in the game as he will serve as an assistant coach for the DII East team. 

The Linn Bulldogs have a pair of seniors selected to the All-Star game set to be on the DII East roster as Evan Bott and Tanner Spence were both selected. Bott on the year for the Bulldog was 24-50 passing for 388 yards with six touchdowns while rushing for 473 yards with five scores and made 48 tackles on defense. Spence led the team in tackles with 105 on the season and ran for 390 yards with seven scores. 

Axtell Eagle senior, Michael Swanson also was selected to the All-Star game for the DII contest on the East roster. Swanson ran for 731 yards for the Eagles with nine touchdowns, while racking up 567 yards receiving with seven touchdowns, helping Axtell to the playoffs last season. 

The Division I contest will feature a pair of Twin Valley League athletes on the East roster. Onaga Buffalo, Tanner Marten and Clifton-Clyde Eagle, Elias Girard both selected for the annual All-Star game. 

Marten ran for 1,051 yards last season with 18 touchdowns, while passing for 321 yards with seven touchdowns and led the team in tackles with 109. 

Girard helped the Eagles to the playoffs last season and led the team in tackles with 64 and had a sack, interception and fumble recovery, while also rushing for two touchdowns on the year. 

The annual 8-Man All-Star games are set for Saturday, June 9th in Beloit. 

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group