Monday, 24 June 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
2018 Twin Valley League 8-man All-League Teams Released
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

The 2018 high school football season came to a close Saturday afternoon with state championships being held across Kansas and with that the final set of all-league selections have been released with the Twin Valley League releasing the 8-man all-league award winners.

The Hanover Wildcats captured their third consecutive 8-man State Championship Saturday with a thrilling 58-50 win over Osborne and finished with five guys all the all-league teams. The Wildcats won the 8-man side of the TVL this year with a perfect 6-0 league record and were led by Carter Bruna who was named to the first team at linebacker and running back, while Jonah Weber was named to the first team on the offensive and defensive lines. Hanover also had Daiken Stallbaumer earn first team honors at defensive back, Pete Peters as an end on offense and Cade Cohorst as an offensive lineman.

The Clifton-Clyde Eagles finished with a 2-0 league mark and a 9-1 overall record with five guys on the first team as well. Senior Nathan Ohlde earned spots on both the offensive and defensive lines, while fellow senior Drake Steinbrock was named to the first team at running back and linebacker. The Eagles also had Christian Seifert at defensive back and Tanner Thompson along with Brant Douglas as utility selections.

The Axtell Eagles took a step in the right direction this season going 5-1 in league play to take second and earned three guys on to the first team. Junior Quinn Buessing got the nod at quarterback after throwing for over 50 touchdowns this season, while wideout Hunter Koch also earned a spot on the first team after breaking two state records this season. Axtell rounded out their first team selections with senior Triston DeKoning on the defensive line.

The final two spots on the first team were rounded out by Frankfort and Wetmore, as the Wildcats had Garrett Dalinghaus earn a spot at linebacker and the Cardinals Joel Hutfles as a utility man on offense.

For the rest of the 2018 TVL all-league selections they can be found below.

2nd Team Defense 2nd Team Offense
DL- Pete Peters (Sr., Hanover) QB- Daiken Stallbaumer (Sr., Hanover)
DL- Brian Joseph (Jr., Frankfort) RB- Garret Dalinghaus (Jr., Frankfort)
DL- Kolby Talbot (So., Axtell) RB- Lane Peter (Sr., Blue Valley)
LB- Cade Cohorst (Sr., Hanover) End- Justin Naegele (Sr., Hanover)
LB- Quinn Buessing (Jr., Axtell) End- Carson Schreiner (Sr., Frankfort)
LB- Joel Hutfles (Sr., Wetmore) OL- Brian Joseph (Jr., Frankfort)
DB- JJ Hart (Jr., Axtell) OL- Nate Buessing (Sr., Axtell)
DB- Lane Peter (Sr., Blue Valley) OL- Kolby Talbot (So., Axtell)
Utility- Cole Montgomery (Sr., Blue Valley) Utility- Joseph Trumble (Sr., Linn)
Utility- Sean Bruna (Jr., Washington Co.)  


Honorable Mention Selections

Tucker Holzhey (Sr., Doniphan West)
Hippolyte Pascal (Jr., Wetmore)
Ethan Powell (Jr., Onaga)
Douglas Koch (So., Clifton-Clyde)
Aiden Rudolph (So., Clifton-Clyde)
George Volle (So., Axtell)
Brayden Young (Jr., Blue Valley)
Aaron Schwartz (Sr., Onaga)
Branden Bussman (Jr., Frankfort)
Taegan Schwartz (Jr., Hanover)
Gavin Pralle (Sr., Hanover)
Tyler Nelson (Jr., Washington County)


©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group