Wednesday, 12 May 2021
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Area Basketball Coaches Nominated for Sports in Kansas Coach of the Year Awards
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

Postseason awards for area high school basketball teams have continued to roll in following the conclusion of the season last weekend and Sports in Kansas has released their coach of the year nominees for each classification.

On the girl’s side five area coaches are up for the award including two in Class 3A in Sabetha’s Nate Bauman who led the Lady Jays to a runner-up finish at state along with Nemaha Central’s Hadden Hiltgen.

In Class 2A Valley Heights’ Jordan Broxterman is up for the award following a third-place finish at state along with Doniphan West’s Perry Smith in 1A-DI and Wetmore’s Adam Maas in 1A-DII.

On the boy’s side just two coaches are up for coach of the year with Holton’s Connor Bechard in Class 4A and Valley Falls’ Caleb Gatzemeyer in 2A after both led their teams to state tournament berths.

These seven nominees now await the winner’s selection which is scheduled to be released on Sunday, March 21.

©2021 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group