Tuesday, 17 July 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Frankfort, Sabetha & Pleasant Ridge Highlight Wamego Cross Country Invite
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

Wamego Cross Country Invite Results (9-9-17) -
1A/2A/3AGirls & 1A/2A/3ABoys
4A Girls & 4A Boys

Six area cross country teams were in action on Saturday competing at the Wamego Invitational against plenty of great competition from across the State. Five of the six teams competed in the 1A/2A/3A races, while the other competed in the 4A races. 

Leading the way for the area runners in competition was a first place individual performance from Frankfort Wildcat, Brodric Shirley who with a time of 16:56.60 won the boys 1A/2A/3A race by nearly 14 seconds. Shirley earned first place out of 131 total runners in the race, while the Wildcat boys placed eighth as a team out of 17 teams. Also in action for Frankfort was Colton Parthemer (21st), Brandon Anderson (25th), Cody Evans (103rd) and Daniel Dowd (113th). 

Sabetha Bluejay girls and boys both notched sixth place finishes as teams out of 10 girl’s teams and 17 boy’s teams in the 1A/2A/3A races. Lady Bluejays had a trio of gals finishing the Top 20 with Hallie Lukert placing 14th, Megan Meyer finishing 15th and Skylar McAfee posting a 16th place finish. Also in action for the Sabetha girls were Kenzie Meyer (58th), Madisen Cochran (62nd), Ellen Glynn (69th) and Karrington Payne (86th). Bluejay boys were led by Henry Glynn who ran his way to 13th place, while Caden Dillon (26th), Charlie Bestwick (42nd), Braden Menold (75th), Micah Romines (78th), Darrin Funk (79th) and Jesse Burger (123rd) were all also in action. 

A fourth place finish behind a time of 18:04.70 in the boys 1A/2A/3A race led the Pleasant Ridge Rams on the day as Luke Oatney posted that performance, while Garrett Silvers (29th) and Dayton Flack (49th) also ran for the Ram boys. In the girls competition Olivia Haack (71st) competed for Pleasant Ridge. 

Marysville had the boys finish ninth as a team in the 1A/2A/3A race with Davis Lee (22nd), Ben Kirkland (45th), Dalton Denner (52nd), Matthew Holle (67th), Bryar O'Neil (88th) and Lucas Gudenkauf (94th) all in action. While the lady Bulldogs had Sydney Grauer (49th), Jordan Nietfeld (76th), Kayden Bogart (91st) and Brandee Rhodes (92nd) all in action. 

Clifton-Clyde Eagle, Haley Hollon (83rd) also competed on the day in the 1A/2A/3A girls race. 

Atchison was led by Emily Jaloma (31st) on the day, while Adalyn Collins (50th and Emily Tull (143rd) were also in action in the girls 4A race. In the boy’s action Matthew Sowers (87th), Jayden Watkins (124th), Canyon Fry (149th), Jay Strieby (155th), Gabe Powell (163rd), Xhander Gilliland (164th) and Payden Brunton (165th) were all in action on the day. 

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group