Friday, 19 October 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Three Area Football Players Earn Player of Year Honors While Others Snag Honors From Sports in Kansas
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

Sports in Kansas Postseason Football Honors - (Players of the Year

More postseason football honors continue to be awarded in the State of Kansas and several Northeast Kansas athlete's continue to earn those honors. 

Three players in from area teams earned "Player of the Year" honors on offense of defense in their classification given out by Sports in Kansas. Class 3A featured two Northeast Kansas area teams vying for the State title against each other as Sabetha topped Marysville 7-6 in the State title game and a player from each of the teams were from both teams. Defensive "Player of the Year" in Class 3A went to Sabetha junior defensive lineman, Elliott Strahm, while the Offensive "Player of the Year" honors in 3A went to Marysville senior quarterback, Jack Blumer. 

Strahm anchored the middle of the line defensive line for the Bluejays over the course of the season recording 64 tackles, 4.5 sacks, three forced fumbles and blocked a punt, while also being a staple on the offensive line also. 

Blumer put up some eye poppin numbers at quarterback for the Bulldogs tossing for 3,165 yards with 31 touchdowns, whlie rushing for 994 yards with 14 scores. 

The other "Player of the Year" honors earned by a Northeast Kansas area athlete came in 8-Man Division II as Hanover Wildcat senior lineman, Carlos Emanuel earned Defensive "Player of the Year" honors from Sports in Kansas. The Hanover Wildcats captured the 8-Man DII State title for the second straight year beating Hodgeman Couty 54-48 in this years Championship. Emanuel the strongest football player in the State recorded 87 tackles along the defensive line for Hanover with three sacks on the season. 

For a full list of the Sports in Kansas "Player of the Year" honors see the link above. 



©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group