Wednesday, 19 December 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Holton Wrestlers Take Big Seven League Crown
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

Big Seven League Tournament Results (2-9-18) - click here (click on 17-18 results under Big 7 League)

The Big Seven League Tournament wrapped up the wrestling regular season for the seven League schools that have wrestling programs. 

The Holton Wildcats earned the Big Seven League wrestling crown for the third straight year this year posting 194 points to win the team title by 22 points. Riverside took second place, while Perry Lecompton finished third only five points ahead of Sabetha who took fourth. Jeff West, Royal Valley and ACCHS rounded out the team finishes placing fifth, sixth and seventh. 

Six individual League champs led the way for Holton on their way to the team League title with multiple others registering Top three finishes. Kyler Tannahill (285lbs) put together a 3-0 day on the mats to take first winning by pinfall each time in 1:44, 1:10 and 4:35, while Konnor Tannahill (182lbs) went 2-0 to take first place winning by pinfall 3:44 and major decision 13-4. A 3-0 day by Dylan Aeschliman (170lbs) earned him first place picking up wins by pinfall in 1:50 and 42 seconds and a 7-0 decision, while Kolby Roush (126lbs) went 2-0 to take first place with a pinfall win in 3:01 and a 13-10 decision victory. It was 2-0 performances on the mats for both Taygen Fletcher (120lbs) and Jake Barnes (106lbs) that earned them first place finishes, also. Fletcher won by pinfall in both his matches 1:13 and 3:03, while Barnes record wins by major decision 12-2 and pinfall 1:21. 

Conner Gilliland (132lbs), Lawson Henry (138lbs) and Austin Rollet (220lbs) each earend second place finishes for Holton posting 2-1, 1-1 and 1-1 records on the mat for the day. While Cael Jackson (152lbs) and Ace Eisenbarth (160lbs) each took third and Killian O'Connor (195lbs) placed fourth. 

Riverside Cyclones registered five individual League champions on their way to second place as a team. At 195lbs Jacob MacKnight posted a 3-0 performance to earn first place winning by pinfall twice in 50 and 37 seconds, while also winning by 19-6 major decision. Scott Resler (145lbs) also went 3-0 to winning himself another individual League title as he won by pinfall twice in 30 seconds and 3:41, while also winning by 2-0 decision. Derrick Karn (132lbs) went 3-0 with three pinfall wins in 23, 27 and 58 seconds to take first place. Both Luke Horn (138lbs), Brayden Seimears (160lbs) each recorded 2-0 days to take first place. Luke Horn won by pinfall in 34 seconds and a 4-1 decision, while Seimears won by decision each time 12-8 and 3-2. 

Beau Horn (126lbs) and Kinstin Juhl (152lbs) each went 1-1 in action to take second place for Riverside, while both Kaedin Juhl (182lbs) and Dawson Dick (220lbs) each earned third place finishes. Jacob Smith (285lbs) notched a fourth place finish for the Cyclones. 

Three second place finishes led Perry Lecompton on the day as Dalton Kahle (106lbs), Braden Woodson (113lbs) and Hayden Robb (182lbs) all took second place. Kyle Bonham (285lbs) Joel Guess (145lbs) and Thad Metcalfe (126lbs) all recorded third place finishes for the Kaws, while Hunter Barnes (120lbs), Mitchell Root (132lbs), Grant Roush (138lbs), Grant Shaver (170lbs) and Collin Rossillon (220lbs) all notched fourth place showings. 

A pair of individual League champs led Sabetha wrestler’s performances as the League tournament as both Kamden Brownlee (152lbs) and Kaden Dillon (113lbs) each earned first place. Brownlee went 2-0 in action with a 12-4 major decision win and a 5-1 decision victory, while Dillon also went 2-0 winning by pinfall in 38 seconds and also registering a 5-2 decision win. Brandon Brownlee (145lbs), Walker Lowdermilk (160lbs), Carson Ukele (195lbs) and Elliott Strahm (285lbs) all earned second place for the Bluejays, while Braden Mitchell (132lbs) brought home a third place finish and Tanner Ukele (182lbs) earned a fourth place showing. 

Jeff West Tigers were led by a second place finish by Taelur Barnes (170lbs) as he went 1-1 in action. While both Hunter Thelen (120lbs) and Kody Gibson (138lbs) each earned third place finsihes and Shane Kelly (126lbs) and Joel Scott (145lbs) each placed fourth at the League touranment. 

Royal Valley Panthers saw Brian Shane (220lbs) notch a first place finish on the day going 2-0 with wins by pinfall in 26 seconds and also a 4-2 decision victory. Both Nate Buchtel (195lbs) and Zach Burger (170lbs) each placed third on the day, while Karsen Smith (152lbs) and Judson Mathis (113lbs) each notched fourth place finishes. 

ACCHS Tigers had two Top three finishers at the League meet as Colton Scholz (120lbs) took second place by going 2-1 in action and Brodie Page (113lbs) earned third place. 

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group