Thursday, 18 April 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Big 7 All-League Basketball Honors Announced
By Jonny Kane

It was once again another competitive year on the court in the Big 7 League and after sub-state play concluded Saturday the Nemaha Central and Royal Valley girls, along with Perry Lecompton boys are all still alive as each advanced to 3A State Tournament play in Hutchinson this week.

With the regular season in the books for all nine league schools, the Big 7 All-League awards have been announced.

On the girls side the league title was tightly contested between Nemaha Central and Jeff West but ultimately the Thunder girls took the league crown finishing 15-1 in league play. The Jeff West girls finished one game behind Nemaha Central at 13-2, while Holton finished with one more loss than the Tiger girls at 13-3 to take third in the league. The Royal Valley girls finished at 9-6 to take fourth in the league, while Sabetha tallied an 8-7 league mark to take fifth. ACCHS, Perry Lecompton, Hiawatha and Riverside finished sixth, seventh, eighth in the league standings after posting league records of 5-10, 3-13, 2-13 and 1-14, respectively.

For the league champion Nemaha Central girls they finished with three players on the All-Big 7 League first team, as senior Laura Macke and junior Jacy Dalinghaus were both unanimous selections, while junior Ashley Larkin picked up a first team spot as well.

The Jeff West girls finished with two unanimous first team selections as well in senior Mariah Murdie and junior Aaliyah Negonsott, while Holton’s Shay Tanking was the final unanimous All-Big 7 League honoree.

The remainder of the first team all-league selections were Jaycee Ernzen of ACCHS, Mary Broxterman and Tamo Thomas of Royal Valley, and Jenna Keller of Perry Lecompton.

On the boys side of the Big 7 League just like the girls it was Nemaha Central who took the league crown finishing 15-1 in league play while Perry Lecompton finished two games behind in the loss column at 13-3. Sabetha and Jeff West finished in third and fourth in the league standings each going 10-5, while Holton was sixth in the league at 8-7. The final four spots in the league were rounded out by Royal Valley, Riverside, Hiawatha and ACCHS who finished with records of 6-9, 3-12, 2-13 and 1-14, respectively.

For the league champion Thunder two guys earned first team All-Big 7 honors in senior Mitchell Henry and junior Cole Kramer, while Perry Lecompton saw a pair of seniors earn first team honors in Canaan Daniels and Toby Baker.

The Holton Wildcats rounded out the schools with multiple first team selections, as seniors Mason Chanay and Mason Strader each picked up honors.

Seniors Masen Spoonhunter of Royal Valley, Brett Stallbaumer of Sabetha and Andrew Miller of Riverside also each picked up first team honors, while Jeff West’s Quinn Nuenswander rounded out the selections as the only sophomore selection.

The complete list of All-Big 7 League selections for the girls and boys can be found below:

Girls First Team  Boys First Team

Shay Tanking (Holton, SR)
Mariah Murdie (Jeff West, SR)
Aaliyah Negonsott (Jeff West, JR)
Laura Macke (Nemaha Central, SR)
Jacy Dalinghaus (Nemaha Central, JR)
Jaycee Ernzen (ACCHS, JR)
Mary Broxterman (Royal Valley, JR)
Tamo Thomas (Royal Valley, SR)
Jenna Keller (Perry, SO)
Ashley Larkin (Nemaha Central, JR)

Mason Chanay (Holton, SR)
Mason Strader (Holton, SR)
Canaan Daniels (Perry, SR)
Toby Baker (Perry, SR)
Masen Spoonhunter (Royal Valley, SR)
Quinn Neuenswander (Jeff West, SO)
Brett Stallbaumer (Sabetha, SR)
Andrew Miller (Riverside, SR)
Mitchell Henry (Nemaha Central, SR)
Cole Kramer (Nemaha Central, JR)

Girls Honorable Mention Boys Honorable Mention

Lauryn Moore (Holton, JR)
Sadie Tanking (Holton, FR)
Jordon Negonsott (Jeff West, JR)
Ashley Hammes (Nemaha Central, JR)
Hillary Krebs (Sabetha, JR)


Tyler Brockoff (Hiawatha, SO)
Colton Mallonee (Perry, JR)
Josh Broxterman (Jeff West, FR)
Grant Thompson (Jeff West, JR)
Joe Gruber (Sabetha, JR)
Matt Baumgartner (Nemaha Central, JR)


©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group