Wednesday, 19 December 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
2017-18 Twin Valley League All-League Basketball Honors Awarded
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

One State Champion, two Runner-ups, two fourth place finishes, seven total State qualifiers and five other teams that finished as Sub-State runner-ups the Twin Valley League put together several strong performances this year. It’s the seventh straight year with at least one TVL team claiming at State title (nine of last 10 years) and the 17th State title in last 21 years. With the basketball season in the books the League has handed out their All-League honors.

The girl’s side of competition for the TVL enjoyed a great season of competition as Hanover and Centralia each posted 11-1 marks in the League and Hanover repeated as Class 1A-DI State Champions. Valley Heights and Frankfort finished third and fourth in the League, respectively and both qualified for State in 2A and 1A-DI. Mustangs grabbed a State runner-up finish in Class 2A. Clifton-Clyde, Washington County and Axtell finished fifth, sixth and seventh in the League. The Axtell Eagles made State in 1A-DII and placed fourth. Doniphan West, Blue Valley, Wetmore, Linn, Onaga and Troy finished out the League standings.

The boy’s side of competition saw the Hanover Wildcats finish 12-0 to win the TVL regular season title and the Wildcats also notch a 1A-DI State runner-up finish to cap their season. Clifton-Clyde and Doniphan West both finished with only two losses in League play posting 10-2 and 9-2 League marks, respectively (difference in record because some late season League matchups cancelled due to weather). Centralia finished fourth in the League and also recorded a fourth place finish at State in 1A-DI. Valley Heights and Frankfort finished fourth and fifth, respectively while Axtell, Blue Valley, Wetmore, Onaga, Linn, Troy and Washington County finished out the League standings. The Axtell Eagles competed at the 1A-DII State tournament.

Next year sets up to be another year of highly competitive basketball action in the Twin Valley.

2017-18 Twin Valley League All-League Basketball

Girls First Team

Boys First Team

Katie Glatczak (Centralia, SR)
Emilee Ebert (Frankfort, JR)
Kayla Smith (Valley Heights, SR)
Macy Doebele (Hanover, JR)
Madison Lueger (Centralia, JR)
Tess Cecrle (Washington County, SR)
Sam Vermetten (Valley Heights, SO)
Trisha Mathewson (Axtell, SR)
Jessa Yaussi (Frankfort, SR)
Shelby Ohlde (Linn, SR)

Tanner Marten (Onaga, SR)
Devin Taylor (Doniphan West, SR)
Thomas Atkins (Hanover, JR)
Bradley Koch (Clifton-Clyde, SR)
Daegan Steinlage (Centralia, JR)
Zach Sorell (Clifton-Clyde, SR)
Carter Bruna (Hanover, JR)
Newt Smith (Doniphan West, SR)
Levi Watts (Doniphan West, SR)
Quinn Buessing (Axtell, SO)
Pete Peters (Hanover, JR)
Joel Hutfles (Wetmore, JR)

Girls Second Team

Boys Second Team

Jaysie Bowser (Clifton-Clyde, SO)
Jill Henry (Wetmore, SR)
Kennen Brandt (Frankfort, SO)
Tianna Lohse (Hanover, SO)
Morgan Kramer (Centralia, SO)
Emily Coffman (Clifton-Clyde, SR)
Brooklyn Zoeller (Blue Valley, SO)
Holly Delay (Washington County, SR)
Makinley Smith (Doniphan West, SO)
Sami Pfaff (Blue Valley, SR)

Jeremy Reed (Valley Heights, JR)
Harrison Blaske (Valley Heights, SR)
Tanner Spence (Linn, SR)
Kamble Haverkamp (Centralia, SO)
Carlos Emanuel (Hanover, SR)
Carson Talkington (Washington County, SR)
Bryan Yungeberg (Valley Heights, SR)
Brandon Anderson (Frankfort, JR)

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group