Friday, 17 January 2020
Login |  Register 
***BREAKING NEWS***    High School Basketball Postponements for Jan. 17    ***
Local Sports News
Doniphan County, Sabetha and Marysville Pick Up Legion Baseball Zone Tournament Wins
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

2019 Legion Baseball – Standings

2019 Kanzaland Radio McDonald’s Player of the Game - Selections

2019 AA Zone Tournament at Sabetha - Bracket

2019 AAA Zone Tournament at Ottawa - Bracket

Zone tournaments rolled along Wednesday for area legion baseball teams and in the AA Zone at Sabetha it was the Raptors and Marysville each picking up wins.

Marysville took down Seneca 17-6 in 9 innings in a loser’s bracket game, scoring 11 runs in the ninth inning after Seneca forced extras with three runs in the seventh on a pair of Marysville errors.

Game two saw Sabetha put together a 6-run third and 5-run fifth to win a winner’s bracket game 11-1 in four innings over Silver Lake.

The Raptors combined for a no-hitter in the win, with Brayden Becker tossing the first three innings and Blake Frey the fourth.

Jalen Worthley was named the McDonald’s Player of the Game on KNZA, as he was on base three times with two walks, two runs scored and an RBI.

With the win Sabetha now has a chance to wrap up the tournament title with a win Thursday night, as at 8:00 they will await the winner of Silver Lake and Marysville which gets underway at 6:00 and the 8:00 game can be heard live on 103.9 KNZA.

While the AA Zone at Sabetha continued so did the AAA Zone at Ottawa and Doniphan County opened their tournament play with a 12-3 win over Leavenworth while Oskaloosa’s season ended with an 11-6 loss to Topeka.

 In DC’s win over Leavenworth it was Trent Spiker who led the way with three hits and six RBI’s while Brock Blair added two hits and drove in three.

The win places Doniphan County semifinals Thursday night at 6:00 against Ottawa, while Leavenworth and Topeka will face off on in the loser’s bracket following at 8:00.

©2020 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group