Wednesday, 27 January 2021
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Area High School Football Players Earn All-State by Cap Journal
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

Topeka Capitol Journal 2020 All-State – Selections

Postseason high school football awards have continued to roll in with all-state selections being announced and several area athletes were named all-state by the Topeka Capitol Journal.

In Class 3A four local athletes earned first team all-state as Perry Lecompton had two guys with Hayden Robb earning a spot on the offensive line while Thad Metcalfe earned all-state as a defensive back.

Holton’s Konnor Tannahill also earned a first team nod on the defensive line while Sabetha’s Drew Schmelzle earned a spot at linebacker.

In Class 2A four more guys earned first team all-state including three players from Nemaha Central in Nathan Deters on the offensive line, Zac Kramer as an at-large offensive selection and Tyler Gerety at defensive back.

Maur Hill-Mount Academy wrapped up 2A first team selections with Andrew Schwinn being named all-state at running back.

The most first team selections come in Class 1A as five guys earned all-state including two guys from Centralia as Austin Holthaus was selected on the offensive line and Tyler Heinen on the defensive line.

Jeff County North added a first team selection by Landon Gutschenritter at running back while Jackson Heights Taylor Wamego earned a spot on the defensive line and Valley Heights Jake Yungeberg at linebacker.

Area first team all-state selections were rounded out by Axtell and Frankfort who each had one guy in 8-man DII with the Eagles Mitchell Buessing earning a spot at end on offensive while the Cats Zavier Brandt earned a spot on the offensive line.

For the complete list of all-state selections including second team and honorable mention selections click on the link at the top of this story.

©2021 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group