Friday, 20 April 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Area Athletes Compete for East at Kansas Shrine Bowl
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

Official Stats - click here

The 44th annual Kansas Shrine Bowl will be one remember for a while as it was competitive and tight down to the wire with a crazy ending as the West won 22-21 using a late safety to earn the win. 

Five area players suited up for the East squad all making impacts in the contest as Trenton Henry (Nemaha Central), Adam Smith (Atchison), Cuttar Huss (Troy), Eric Renyer (Sabetha) and Greg Martin (Marysville).

The West jumped up 14-0 with a pair of touchdowns in the first quarter but the East forced some turnovers and six overall in the game and final cashed on one before the half as Troy Trojan, Cuttar Huss caught an 18-yard touchdown pass to make it 14-7 going into halftime with the West leading. A big play lead to a score and then another scoring drive after that opened the second half for the East to give them the 21-14 lead. West came close to pulling even with a touchdown but on a two-point conversion try to take the lead came up short and the East held a 21-20 lead. Driving with just a few minutes left in the West turned the ball over in the red zone but after two unsportsman like penalties on the East backed them up to the four-yard line and the West pushed hard as the East looked to run the clock out but the West defense recorded a safety to snag the 22-21 win.

Huss finished the game with two catches for 39 yards and a touchdown, while Greg Martin played along the offensive line blocking for the East. Adam Smith snagged one of four East interceptions grabbed on defense, while Trenton Henry and Eric Renyer each made several plays recording tackles in the contest. 

The MVP's honors in the contest went to JJ Lechter (KC Piper) for the East and Zach Helbing (Mulvane) for the West. 

The win by the West snapped a two-game losing streak for them in the Shrine Bowl. 

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group