Thursday, 21 March 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
2018 Kanzaland Radio American Legion Baseball All-NEKL Team Released
By Jonny Kane and Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

2018 Northeast Kansas Legion Baseball Standings – click here

2018 KNZA “McDonalds Player of the Game” selections – click here

The 2018 legion baseball season wrapped up with state tournaments taking place last week and with that the 2018 Kanzaland Radio American Legion All-NEKL postseason awards have been handed out.

For the first time in four seasons the league saw a new team on top, as Silver Lake posted a 13-1 league record to win the West Division, taking down East Division champion Doniphan County in the league title game. Silver Lake also reached the AA State Tournament, going 2-2 in the tournament before falling to Marysville in the final four.

Silver Lake was led by Cale Adams who named the MVP of the league, while Mitchell Flangan was selected as an all-league short stop, Justin Keller as a designated hitter, Trent Byers as a utility player and Jake Lindstrom at pitcher.

Marysville had the best finish to the season of any NEKL team, making it all the way to the AA State Championship game before falling to Iola. Marysville went 10-4 in the West Division this season, earning four guys to the all-league team. Hunter Warnick and Jacob Latta were each selected on the infield, while Brennan Wetter and Adam Lindhorst were selected in the outfield.

Sabetha had the most guys selected to the all-league team with five, as the Raptors finished with 30 wins to take third in the West Division of the league and make it to the AA State Tournament going 1-2. Braden Argabright and Brandon Brownlee were selected at third base and catcher, while Blake Frey earned an outfield spot, Joe Gruber and Brett Stallbaumer at utility and Brayden Becker at pitcher.

The East Division was once again dominated by Doniphan County who finished with a 13-1 league record, while also finishing one win short of reaching the state tournament. D.C. had three guys selected to the all-league team, with Clayton Ridout selected in the outfield, Levi Watts as a utility player and Zeb Speer at pitcher.

Leavenworth was the only other NEKL team with multiple selections, as Collin Jones was selected at pitcher and Tanner Morris as a utility player.

The remaining All-NEKL selections were Corning’s Trenton Flentie at utility, Derek Uphaus of Seneca at pitcher, Oskaloosa’s Hunter Reed at utility and Hiawatha’s Michael Moreno at outfield.

2018 Kanzaland American Legion NEKL All-League Team

MVP: Cale Adams (Silver Lake)

1B: Hunter Warnick (Marysville)
2B: Jacob Latta (Marysville)
SS: Mitchell Flanagan (Silver Lake)
3B: Braden Argabright (Sabetha)
C: Brandon Brownlee (Sabetha)*
DH: Justin Keller (Silver Lake)*

OF: Brennan Wetter (Marysville)
OF: Blake Frey (Sabetha)*  
OF: Adam Lindhorst (Marysville)
OF: Clayton Ridout (Doniphan County)
OF: Michael Moreno (Hiawatha)  

Utility: Levi Watts (Doniphan County)
Utility: Hunter Reed (Oskaloosa)
Utility: Trent Byers (Silver Lake)
Utility: Trenton Flentie (Corning)
Utility: Joe Gruber (Sabetha)**
Utility: Tanner Morris (Leavenworth)**
Utility: Brett Stallbaumer (Sabetha)*

P: Zeb Speer (Doniphan County)*
P: Brayden Becker (Sabetha)*
P: Jake Lindstorm (Silver Lake)*
P: Derek Uphaus (Seneca)*
P: Collin Jones (Leavenworth)
*indicates previous years selected All-League

2018 Northeast Kansas League American Legion Baseball Notes:

  • Marysville won the Marysville Classic (Sabetha finished Second place)
  • NEKL Division Winners – Silver Lake (West) & Doniphan County (East)
  • Silver Lake won NEKL Championship (beat Doniphan County in West vs East matchup)
  • Silver Lake wins AA Zone Tournament at Wathena (qualifies for State)
  • Sabetha runner-up AA Zone Tournament at Wathena (qualifies for State – host of State)
  • Marysville won AA Zone Tournament at Russell (qualifies for State)
  • Leavenworth runner-up AAA Zone Tournament at Topeka (qualifies for State)
  • Marysville finishes AA State Runner-up
  • Silver Lake finishes in Final Four of AA State Tournament

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group